

RESTRICTIONS ON ENTRY TO AUSTRALIA

Precautionary self-isolation requirement for all travellers entering Australia

On 15 March 2020, the Australian Government announced that all travellers entering Australia from 0001 AEDST 16 March 2020 must undertake a <u>precautionary self-isolation</u> <u>period for up to 14 days upon entry to Australia</u>. This applies to any traveller entering Australia, inclusive of Australian citizens and permanent residents. For any travellers who are entering Australia for less than 14 days, they must self-isolate for the entire duration of their stay.

These measures apply to all travellers entering Australia via aircraft and cruise ships.

The travel restrictions for mainland China, Iran, the Republic of Korea and Italy remain in place.

All travellers will be notified of the precautionary self-isolation requirement through updated a health fact sheet. Travellers may be required to complete a form confirming that they understand they are required to complete the self-isolation period for up to 14 days.

For travellers transiting through Australia

• Any travellers, who are transiting through Australia to an international destination must remain in the airport, or self-isolate (for up to 14 days) in their accommodation, for the duration of their planned transit.

For aircraft

- Airline crew (including medivac crew) are exempt from the travel restrictions
 provided the appropriate personal protective equipment is utilised during the
 journey and in public spaces (including airports), and the crew member is not
 displaying any symptoms.
 - This includes off-shift crew who are travelling as passengers on an aircraft to reposition at another location. The same process is to be followed for this cohort as on-shift crew.
- Travellers with existing domestic transfer booking or arrangements may complete their domestic transfer and commence their precautionary self-isolation period (of up to 14 days) at the final destination.
 - While in transit, they must remain in the airport or if they have an overnight layover, they must self-isolate in their accommodation for the duration of their transit period.

Additional messages for travellers

- From 0001 AEDST 16 March 2020, if you arrive in Australia you are required to undertake a precautionary self-isolation period of up to 14 days upon entry into Australia.
- If you need to transit domestically, you may complete this transit and then begin your precautionary self-isolation period of up to provided you are an Australian citizen or resident returning to your home location, or are a foreign national and have existing transfer arrangements.
 - If you have a layover, you must remain in the airport or self-isolate in your accommodation for the transit period.
- If you do not complete your 14 day precautionary self-isolation period after arriving in Australia, you may put the health and wellbeing of Australians at risk.

Talking points for industry

- From 0001 AEDST 16 March 2020, all travellers arriving in Australia are required to undertake a precautionary self-isolation period of up to 14 days after entry into Australia.
- Travellers may complete domestic transits and then begin their precautionary 14 day self-isolation period.
 - They must remain in the airport or if they have a layover, they must selfisolate in their accommodation for their transit period.
- Travellers arriving in Australia who do not complete their 14 day precautionary self-isolation period may put the health and wellbeing of Australia at risk.

These arrangements are kept under constant review and will be updated as necessary.

The ABF appreciates your ongoing support and cooperation during this time. For additional support, please contact the Border Operations Centre at **+61 1300 368 126**.