Mid West Ports Authority Board of Directors

Chairman John Elkington

John Elkington

Occupation General Manager & Company Director
Appointments Appointed Non-Executive Director, Chairman February 2017

Background/ Qualifications

  • MSc (Mineral Economics) Western Australian School of Mines, Curtin University
  • General Manager – Mining Corporate Services, Snowden
  • Director of a mining financial advisory consultancy
  • Former Managing Director of an ASX listed company
  • Former Mine Manager
  • Former Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee of Horizon Power
  • Former Technical Director of mineral assay and metallurgical testwork laboratories
  • Member of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy
  • Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Deputy Chairman Noel Ashcroft, AM

Noel Ashcroft

Occupation Company Director & Business Consultant
Appointments Appointed Non-Executive Director July 2012

Background/ Qualifications

  • BSc (Forestry) Australian National University: MSc (Forestry & Land Management) Oxford University
  • Former Chief Executive, Government Relations & Market Development for a large diversified conglomerate 2008-2011
  • Former Agent General for Western Australia 2005-2008
  • Former Deputy Director General, Investment Services Dept of Industry & Resources (2003-2005)
  • Former Executive Director, Office of Major Projects, Dept of Resources Development (2001-2003)
  • Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • Company Directorships
  • Past Chair and Member of various government & industry boards and committees
  • Member of the Order of Australia 2012
  • Justice of the Peace in Western Australia

Director Kim Halbert

Kim Halbert

Occupation Farmer
Appointments Appointed Non-Executive Director July 2014

Background/ Qualifications

  • BCom (Dist) Curtin. Double major in Economics and Finance.
  • Deputy Chair, Grains Research and Development Corp.
  • Board Member Wheat Exports Australia (2008-12)
  • Former Board Member Grain Licensing Authority of WA
  • Director Geraldton Port Authority (1997-2006)
  • Graduate Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • Managing Director of Arawa Farms Pty Ltd.

Director, Dr Sue van Leeuwen

Dr Sue van Leeuwen

Occupation Company Director and Consultant
Appointments Appointed Non-Executive Director January 2016

Background/ Qualifications

  • DBA (Curtin)
  • MBA (Curtin)
  • Owner: Amity Leadership and Consulting
  • Board Member: Kormilda College, Northern Territory
  • Former CEO: Leadership WA
  • Former Associate Professor, Assistant Dean and Assistant Provost: UNDA
  • Former CEO: Swanleigh
  • Former Board Member in a number of Community and Education Organisations
  • Former Panel Member: Perth Freight Link, Social Enterprise Fund, Governance Review of Metropolitan Local Government, Social Innovation Grants.
  • Company Directors Diploma, AICD
  • Mastering the Boardroom Program, AICD
  • Fellow AICD
  • Fellow Leadership WA

Director Stephen Pollard

Stephen Pollard

Occupation Company Director and Chief Executive Officer
Appointments Appointed Non-Executive Director July 2016

Background/ Qualifications

  • Bachelor of Commerce
  • Fellow Institute of Public Accountants, Australian Institute of Management, CPA, Leadership WA
  • National Director, Waste Management Institute of Australia
  • Director Leadership WA
  • Director, Down Syndrome WA
  • CEO, All Earth Group Pty Ltd
  • Member Australian Institute of Company Directors